Banana and Egg Pancakes

2 Ingredient Banana and egg pancakes
I have seen this recipe floating around the internet for a while and I have heard mixed opinions about it. Some say they tasted similar to pancakes with the texture of the middle of French toast (yum!) and others said that it basically tasted like a banana omelette (not so yum…) However, today I found myself craving something sweet for brunch and decided to give the pancakes a go. I looked up several versions of the recipe and the majority said two large eggs and one medium banana. I read people’s reviews and, again, it was a mixed opinion. Too wet, difficult to flip, tasted too eggy… In the end I decided to make up my own recipe – how hard could it be? So mine are more 4 ingredient pancakes. I settled for a medium sized banana, one egg and I added some self raising flour and a sprinkling of cinnamon. The mixture didn’t really resemble pancake batter, but I was optimistic. I added a bit of coconut oil to my frying pan and when it had melted I added two tablespoons of the batter into the centre of the pan and waited. Now I have never been a great pancake maker, I always seem to struggle flipping them over and they end up falling apart and turning into a huge mess. So I waited until the pancake was brown underneath and very carefully slid my spatula underneath and in one quick move – the middle was very wet – I flipped it over. It looked exactly like a pancake and didn’t turn into a scrambled egg mess – which I was sure would happen. I managed to make five small pancakes and the more I made the better I got at the flipping. Here are the pancakes plain:

The edges of the pancake had a classic pan-cakey texture and I could taste both the banana and cinnamon and, thankfully, none of the egg. The texture in the middle changes to a light soft, almost gooey, texture and I really did like them. I used my husband as a guinea pig and asked him to taste test them for me. Bare in mind I haven’t had sugar in 24 days so anything with the slightest sweetness may just taste amazing to me. He tried them and said they were good and even went back for another forkful – success!

I decided to top mine with a drizzle of Sweet Freedom Choc Shot and it turned it into a decadent treat. It felt as though I was eating something really bad, when in fact it was only 221kcals with 9.7g of protein. A guilt free, yet filling, snack. I am definitely going to make these again and this time I may serve them with some Greek yogurt and berries. Even a simple drizzle of honey would really compliment the flavours.

The Recipe

1 Ripe Banana (approx 100g without skin)

1 Large Egg

15g Self Raising Flour

Cinnamon

Coconut oil for frying

  1. Slice the banana and mash in a bowl until barely any lumps remain.
  2. Whisk the egg in a separate bowl until well combined – the longer you whisk the egg the lighter the pancakes will be.
  3. Mix the egg into the mashed banana and mix well
  4. Add both the flour and cinnamon and give it a final mix.
  5. Heat coconut oil in a pan on a medium heat and add two tablespoons of the batter into the pan.
  6. Allow to cook on one side until the underneath has browned – the middle will still wobble.
  7. Flip the pancake and cook on the next side.
  8. And that is it. It really is that simple and then eat warm served with your favourite toppings.

I hope you all enjoy this recipe. If you try it out let me see your results on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram.

Happy Pancaking 🙂

Leave a Reply

