Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe

Butternut squash is a vegetable that I only really discovered last year. I had always avoided the odd shaped vegetable after hearing it was part of the pumpkin family. Many years of carving pumpkins for Halloween kind if put me off trying it. But last year I took the plunge and I bought one. I wasn’t keen on roasting it whole in the oven so I went for something a bit more me – soup. I’ve made my roasted butternut squash so many times and I still never get bored of it. I have even converted family members to making their own, rather than buying the watery soup sold in supermarkets which are probably full of unnecessary ingredients.
Squash is surprisingly low calories with only 36 calories per 100g and it is high in dietary fibre. I initially thought that it wouldn’t be filling enough, but it is. It is a vegetable that doesn’t necessarily taste super healthy in the respects that it is quite flavoursome. It has an almost buttery taste and a delicate hint of sweetness. It is also full of antioxidant carotenoids which can protect your skin from premature ageing and even cancer. The antioxidant beta-carotene (the orange pigment) is also found in butternut squash which contributes to healthy eyes. Like a lot of vegetables the humble butternut squash has a ton of vitamins and minerals: Vitamin C, A, E, K and B as well as being a great source of magnesium (which a study has shown a huge majority of us are deficient in magnesium), iron, calcium, potassium, zinc and phosphorus. It really is a superhero amongst vegetables and we should all strive to include more of it into our daily diets.

My roasted butternut squash recipe is one of the simplest out there. It is as easy as roasting the vegetables, adding stock and blending. Although this may take slightly longer than opening a can or a carton from the supermarket, I assure you that this is tastier and healthier. I like to top my soup with a dollop of full fat Greek yogurt for indulgence and a sprinkling of chilli flakes for a little heat, but these are completely optional.

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with Greek Yougurt and Chilli Flakes

Makes 4 servings.

1 Butternut squash (seeds discarded and cubed)

100g onion (diced)

1 garlic clove

15g coconut oil (or any oil you prefer)

2 Stock cubes (I use chicken, but you can use any)

10g full fat Greek yogurt (or crème fraiche)

Chilli flakes

Salt and pepper

  1. Put the squash, onion and garlic into a roasting tin and coat with the coconut oil. Roast in the oven at gas mark 6 for 30 minutes until the squash has softened.
  2. Put the squash, onion and garlic into a pan (or a blender if you prefer) and add the stock cubes and seasoning. Add enough almost boiling water to cover the squash and season with salt and pepper. Blend until smooth. If it is too thick add a little more water, it’s better to add less as you can’t repair the soup if it is too runny.
  3. Heath through and serve. (Optional) I like to swirl through some Greek yogurt and top with a sprinkling of chilli flakes.

I have worked out that per serving this recipe has approximately:

Calories – 117, Fat – 6g, Sat Fat – 3.9g, Carbs – 15.5g, Sugar – 8.7g (all natural though), Protein – 2.4g

Leave a Reply

