Recipe test: Sweet Freedom’s Choc Shot Porridge Bars

I fancied trying to make some sort of energy/granola bars for when I’m hungry between meals or need a bit of a pick me up after a workout. I used to love oat based bars when I ate sugar so I googled some no added sugar ones. A huge majority of them have some kind of artificial sweetener or use honey, neither of which I was keen on using. I stumbled across this recipe on Sweet Freedom’s website and the only sweetness used is the fruit based syrup. You can find the original recipe here: www.sweetfreedom.co.uk/recipes/porridge-oat-bars/ I tweaked the recipe slightly as I am neither a fan of oranges or pecans. I instead replaced the orange zest with ground ginger and omitted the nuts (although you could add any nut you wanted).With only four ingredients this recipe was simple to make and the one pan method made it easy to clean up after. The smell lingering in the house whilst they were in the oven was amazing and made my mouth water. I was sure that this was a good sign.

My Verdict:

They smell and look great. On first bite they were sweet, but not overly sweet. The taste of chocolate comes through along with a hint of ginger and a slight taste of coconut. I’m a big fan of this flavour combination so that was a plus. Now the negative is that they were quite dry, I felt like I needed to have a drink whilst I was eating them. However, unlike most sugary home-made bars, they didn’t completely dry my mouth out and leave a weird taste. I’m not sure if the dryness is due to the lack of sugar or there were just too many oats. I would probably have another go at making them, but I would consider using less oats and experiment with different flavour combinations. I feel these would also benefit from some sort of drizzle topping maybe to, again, help with the dryness.

**UPDATE: Just want to add that I left the bars overnight and I have just tasted them and they are alot nicer today. The flavour is stronger and they are a lot less dry. My tip is to leave them overnight so you can enjoy them at their best. I will definitely be making these again**

I have included the link higher up for the original recipe and I’m going to share my tweaked version.

Chocolate and Ginger Oat Bars

Makes 16 squares

100g coconut oil

175g Sweet Freedom choc shot

250g oats

1 tsp ground ginger

  1. Preheat the oven to gas mark 4 and grease a 20cm square cake tin.

  2. Melt coconut oil and choc shot in a pan over a low heat and mix to combine.

  3. Remove from heat and stir in the ground ginger. Add the oats and mix until everything in combined.

  4. Press in an even layer into the tin and bake it in the oven for approximately 15 minutes.

  5. Allow to cool. Cut into even squares and store in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

